Reflections: Moving forwards by stepping back

It’s been a crazy last few months. Heck, it’s been a crazy year. My last blog post, I shared about still desiring to be a person who could be and bring Christ to others. It is a challenge we all have as Christians to do so. However there was still a part of me that was a bit weary, like the Lion who has fought through many battles and just wants to sleep. Upon reflecting, I realized that I have been with the CFC Family Ministries for 14 years, practically my entire adult life. How God has worked through this community is nothing short of amazing. I’ve watched lives transform, watched journeys go on, and yet I began also to realize that I myself had fallen into a comfortable position. I was able to serve and it was fun, and while still challenging, there was something oddly too comfortable about it. So I decided to seek a new challenge for myself. To challenge my service and put myself outside of what was comfortable. And that was taking a step back. 

It sounds odd, I know, but sometimes to move forward, you need to let go. I don’t know about you guys, but when you love something a lot, it’s easy to cling to it, but if you cling too tightly, it won’t grow. You may even suffocate it. And at the end of the day, our service is simply God’s work, done through us. We are not the necessary ones, but our Yes to service allows God to work, but at the same time, we need to realize when to say no, let someone else do it, so that they can participate in God’s calling to service as well, and the other community members grow. I slowly realized that perhaps my attitude of always wanting to say yes to service was in danger of becoming a hindrance. A hindrance for others to also growin their own service. I began seeing what one of my older leaders told me, that you are here to guide, but let your members do the doing. Set an example for them, then let them do it.

It didn’t mean letting go completely, but it also meant having to trust the others to grow into their service. We all have our preference for how things get done, but at the end of the day, allowing someone else to take the lead doesn’t hinder the work of God. If anything, sometimes we let our pride tell us “well that’s not how I would do it”, instead of “Praise God, they’re doing it and doing well!”. The challenge of stepping back and letting others take the lead also means letting go of your own preferences and allowing your members to grow. They will see your advice, and you can suggest, but allow God to work through them. Once we do that, then as a whole,we as a community can move forward, once we as leaders can learn to step back and let the others grow. Trust that God will guide them, and watch as they work His wonders.

Letting go and stepping back also allows God to push you out of your comfort zone. Because letting go of one thing in service means God will give you more to do. At the end of the day my friends, we are simply the servants of the Lord. As Mary said all those milennia ago “be it done unto me according to your word”. This is what will allow us to take our own steps to grow and move forward. 

God bless everyone! 

Leave a Reply

